My Profile

My Profile

Change Password

PBA Shield

John Nuthall


September 1, 2016

Nation's Largest Municipal Police Union — The NYC PBA — Names Milwaukee County Sheriff David A. Clarke Jr. 2016 Person of the Year

ALBANY, NY: Milwaukee County Sheriff David A. Clarke Jr. was named the Patrolmen’s Benevolent Association of the City of New York’s (NYC PBA) 2016 Person of the Year. The honor was bestowed by PBA President Patrick J. Lynch before a crowd of hundreds of NYC police officers today at a luncheon conducted during the police union’s 122nd Annual Convention held at the Radisson in Albany, NY.

PBA President Patrick J. Lynch said:

“Sheriff Clarke is a passionate and vocal defender of police officers, at a time when our job is more difficult and dangerous than ever before. That is exactly what the PBA does for New York City police officers, so it has been encouraging to hear Sheriff Clarke make the same case on a national stage. We should be hearing that type of support from elected leaders in both parties and at all levels of government. We are honored to have Sheriff Clarke as our Person of the Year.”

Milwaukee County Sheriff David A. Clarke Jr. said:

“I am humbled, yet honored, to receive this designation from the largest union of police officers, both active and retired, of America’s iconic law enforcement agency – the NYPD.  I accept this award on behalf of every law enforcement officer who serves and protects their community with integrity, honor, courage and commitment throughout the United States.”

Sheriff Clarke served for 24 years in the City of Milwaukee Police Department. He spent 11 of those years on patrol, during which time he received several meritorious citations for felony arrests. He was appointed as Sheriff of Milwaukee County in 2002 and has since been elected four times by an overwhelming majority, earning him the name “The People’s Sheriff.” Sheriff Clarke has stepped into the national spotlight as a passionate defender of law enforcement, appearing frequently on TV programs and at high-profile events such as the Republican National Convention to push back against the rising tide of anti-police sentiment. When Sheriff Clarke speaks, he does so with real knowledge of what it means to be a police officer on the street.

Previous recipients of the NYC PBA’s Person of the Year award include elected officials, journalists, law enforcement professionals and radio and TV personalities. See the following list:

The Patrolmen’s Benevolent Association of the City of New York (PBA) is the largest municipal police union in the nation and represents nearly 50,000 active and retired NYC police officers.

NYC PBA Person of the Year recipients:

2001 – Gov. George Pataki
2002 – Senator Charles Schumer
2003 – NYS Secretary of State Randy Daniels
2004 – Radio personality Steve Malzberg
2005 – NY Daily News Columnist Stanley Crouch
2006 – Attorney General Andrew Cuomo
2007 – Governor Eliot Spitzer
2008 – FBI Spokesman John Miller
2009 – LA Police Chief William Bratton
2010 – NY State Senator John Sampson
2011 – Congressman Peter King
2012 – NYS Assemblyman Peter Abbate Jr.
2013 – The Deceased Officer’s Parents Association
2014 – NYPD Employee Relations Section
2015 – Gov. Andrew Cuomo
2016 – Milwaukee County Sheriff David A. Clarke, Jr.

# # #